g y l


Graduates of EDWorks Early College High Schools.Learn more about some EDWorks Early College High Schools:

Akron Early College High School

Akron Early College High School (AECHS), serving grades 9 to 12, partners with The University of Akron. AECHS is a college preparatory high school embedded in the university’s campus. Students simultaneously take high school and college courses beginning their freshman year with the goal of achieving an Associate’s Degree upon graduation from high school. The high school is ranked “Excellent by the Ohio Department of Education and has also been named “A School of Promise” for its success in educating all students regardless of economic or ethnic background.

Canton Early College High School

Canton Early College High School began in 2005 and serves grades 9 to 12. Canton Early College High School is located in the heart of Downtown Canton on the Timken Senior High School Campus and partners with Stark State College. Students have the opportunity to earn their high school diploma from either McKinley Senior High School or Timken Senior High School and to earn an Associate of Art degree or an Associate of Science degree through Stark State College. Canton Early College High School welcomes all students within our school district but especially those traditionally underserved by institutions of higher learning such as first generation college students and lower socio-economic students.

Charles School at Ohio Dominican University

The Charles School at Ohio Dominican University is a 5-year early college high school in partnership with a 4-year private liberal arts institution. Opened in the fall of 2007 by the founders of The Graham School, The Charles School is a public charter school. Their mission includes serving first generation college goers and low income youth, however, they accept any student interested in pursuing this type of accelerated education. The curriculum provides a series of gateways that prepare students to begin taking college classes during their junior year, enabling them to complete an Associate’s Degree during year 5. The Charles School’s early college intermediary is Middle College National Consortium.

Columbus Africentric Early College

Columbus Africentric Early College opened in 1996 and serves students grades 6 through 12. Columbus Africentric Early College partners with Columbus State Community College where the high school students can earn Associate degrees.

Dayton Early College Academy

Dayton Early College Academy (DECA) has a singular focus – to prepare prospective first generation urban students for college. Students in grades 7-12 are immersed in a college-going culture with high support and high expectations. Partnered with both the University of Dayton and Sinclair Community College, nearly 100% of DECA graduates enroll in college.


Early College High School at Delaware State University, also known as ECHS @ DSU, is Delaware’s first early college. The school, which opened its doors to students in 2014, has a STEM focus, combining a deep exploration into science, math, engineering and technology with project-based learning using design challenges. Students at ECHS @ DSU start earning college credit their freshman year at the school and can earn up to 60 college credits from Delaware State University by their graduation from high school.

Lorain County Early College High School

Lorain County Early College High School (LCECHS) started in 2004 and enrolls students in grades 9-12. Its primary university partner is Lorain County Community College. LCECHS is a four-year liberal arts education program with a first –generation enrollment criteria. LCECHS students are enrolled through Lorain City Schools and Elyria City Schools. Students in surrounding districts may enter LCECHS through open enrollment with Lorain City Schools. Sixty-two college credits are needed to earn an associate’s degree from Lorain County Community College at the time of high school graduation from LCECHS.

Marysville Early College High School

Marysville Early College High School is Ohio’s first manufacturing-related STEM Early College High School. Created in partnership with Marysville Exempted Village Schools District, Ohio Hi-Point Career Center, Columbus State Community College, Honda of America Manufacturing, the Union County Chamber of Commerce and EDWorks, this school opened its doors to students. In 2015, Ohio Governor Kasich said about Marysville Early College High School, “You recognized a problem, came up with a plan and now Marysville has a school that trains people for jobs that right in this community. Marysville Early College High School is an example of public and private entities working together to get the job done.”

Metro High School

Metro High School, located on The Ohio State University campus, has a unique relationship with the university. At Metro, students complete STEM-focused advanced research work alongside university professors. Metro has a two-phase curriculum: The first is mastery of core high school prep. The second phase includes College coursework at The Ohio State University, internships and Junior research projects. As part of Phase Two, qualified seniors must finish an independent, year-long research project before they earn a diploma.

Toledo Early College High School

Toledo Early College High School (TECHS) started accepting its first class of 100 freshmen students during the school year 2005-2006. TECHS accepts incoming freshmen only each school year and serves students in grades 9-12. TECHS is in partnership with the University of Toledo. The liberal arts curriculum affords students the opportunity to earn up to 60 college credits during the four-year high school experience. TECHS has earned an “Excellent” school rating on the Ohio Department of Education Report Card, beginning with school year 2006-2007. TTECHS has graduated a total of 102 students from the classes of 2009, 2010 and 2011. Total college credits earned are 5,794.

Youngstown Early College

Youngstown Early College (YEC) is housed on the campus of Youngstown State University and has been in operation since the fall of 2004. YEC serves 20 students in grades 9-12 who traditionally might not be college bound, including those from low-income families, first-generation students, English language learners and students of color. Eastern Gateway Community College is the current university partner. YEC students have consistently improved in achieving the goal of attaining a high school diploma and completing 45 hours of college credit or and Associate’s Degree. Youngstown State University and Eastern Gateway Community College faculties work together to align content curriculum in an effort to minimize obstacles as students transition from high school to college classes. Academic coaches are assigned to monitor students’ college work and provide academic support.

Woodlawn High School | Early College Academy of Business and Finance & Early College Academy of Arts and Environmental Science

Woodlawn High School in Birmingham, Alabama, is one of five schools within the Woodlawn Innovation Network (WIN).  In summer 2015 the school launched a pilot Early College initiative with ninth and 10th grade students.  The pilot is slated to expand numbers and grade levels of students served over the next two years.  The goal is for all Woodlawn Early College students  to have the opportunity to earn an associate degree, professional certificates or up to 60 hours of college credit from Lawson State Community College or the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Contact Us For More Information